Turkish Football News

Galatasaray clinch 21st league title on final day

Galatasaray clinch 21st league title on final day

Galatasaray defeated Goztepe 1-0 today to claim the Super Lig title.

Galatasaray, led by Fatih Terim, had to wait until the final day of the season to be declared champions of the 2017/2018 season.

Cimbom faced Goztepe in Izmir today where they fought hard against one of the newcomers of the season. There were 8,671 people in attendance, with 8,155 of them Goztepe fans while 516 were cheering for Galatasaray.

The score was 0-0 for the majority of the game until the 66th minute when referee Cuneyt Cakir awarded the away side a penalty.

Bafetimbi Gomis, the league’s top goalscorer this season and the all-time foreign top goalscorer in the Super Lig, stepped up and put the ball into the back of the net.

By winning the league, the Lions set a record for winning the Turkish Super Lig the most number of times – 21 times. Meanwhile, this is Fatih “Emperor” Terim’s 7th league title in his managerial career, all of them won with Galatasaray.

The champions qualify directly for next season’s Champions League group stages, something they will be happy about after having missed out on the tournament last season due to a ban for failing to meet UEFA’s Financial Fair Play regulations.

Fenerbahce, Basaksehir and Besiktas all won their final games of the season and finished 2nd, 3rd and 4th respectively.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Got something to say? Drop a comment below.x