Turkish Football News

Galatasaray posts cryptic tweet after loss

Galatasaray's cryptic tweet

Galatasaray suffered their 6th away loss of the season tonight when they lost 2-1 to local rivals Kasimpasa. The club posted a cryptic image on social media following their loss.

A cryptic tweet and bad refereeing. They go hand in hand in the Turkish Super Lig. Following Galatasaray’s loss to Kasimpasa tonight, an image was posted on Cim Bom’s official twitter account. The image shows the final score of the fixture over the referee’s figure, who is placed on Kasimpasa’s side of the scoreboard.

Referee Halis Ozkahya, in typical Turkish fashion, made some questionable calls throughout the night. One of these was a penalty awarded to Kasimpasa for what initially seemed like a foul on one of their players in Galatasaray’s penalty box in the allotted extra time of the first half.

Within minutes, the incident caught the attention of Turkish media and the incident became a topic of discussion on Twitter, Instagram and among Turkish sports pundits on live television.

Replays have shown the player in the questionable incident might have taken a dive as their didn’t seem to be clean contact between himself and the tackling defender, Serdar Aziz.

This is the second time this weekend referees have made very questionable decisions in the Super Lig, following Alper Ulusoy’s poor performance on Friday night in the match between Konyaspor and Besiktas. You can read about that by clicking here.

While they didn’t say it with words, the cryptic image is very indicative of how Galatasaray feel regarding the decision which went against them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *